Broken Records Magazine Interview with The Band Perry

Photo Courtesy of Justin Nolan Key, Republic Nashville

Broken Records Magazine’s Markos Papadatos had the pleasure to interview all three members of The Band Perry.

The Band Perry is one of country music’s hottest live acts. The trio of siblings consists of Kimberly Perry on lead vocals, rhythm piano and guitar, her brother Reid on bass guitar and backing vocals, as well as her brother Neil on mandolin, accordion, drums and background vocals.

Their critically-acclaimed eponymous debut album was released on October 12, 2010, via their record label, Republic Nashville. The Band Perry wrote or co-wrote nine of the eleven tracks on the album. It debuted at #2 on the Billboard Country Album Charts, as well as #4 on the Billboard 200 all-genre Charts, and subsequently, it was certified gold within four months.

Thanks to the success of their record, The Band Perry was nominated for a coveted 2010 Country Music Association (CMA) award for “Vocal Group of the Year,” and received a 2011 Grammy nod for “Best Country Song” for their smash hit “If I Die Young,” which peaked at #1 on the Billboard Country Charts; moreover, their debut single “Hip to My Heart” was also a Top 20 hit. 

The Band Perry has been profiled on such television shows as “The Today Show,” “Ellen,” “The Tonight Show with Jay Leno,” “The View,” “CNN,” and “E! News.”

On country music, “I love the rapport between the artists and the country music fans,” says Kimberly Perry. “Country music is the people’s music. It’s not just the stories of the lives of the singers’ songs. We’re just so grateful to live our lives and get to sing our songs each night,” she adds.

“Our parents have given us the best musical advice. Half of making it in life is outlasting the process. The three of us have been on the road together since we were 15, 8 and 10 years old. We celebrate 13 years this October,” says Kimberly.
On April 3, 2011, The Band Perry won two prestigious Academy of Country Music (ACM) awards for “Top New Vocal Duo or Group” and “Top New Artist.” On achieving these accolades, Neil Perry states, “that was a great, great night. It was such an honor to be nominated for the award, but to actually accept our first award from the fans, since it was fan-voted, was also very special. It feels like the kingdom of country music has given us their warm welcome.”
“Everybody’s working really hard out here. That’s what we love about country music. Last year we spent 19 days at home. We just try to challenge ourselves creatively to be true to our own life experiences, and then we can really respond honestly through our music. We want all of our songs to be characters,” says Kimberly.
“One thing that we always work towards is being our own worst creative critics and always stepping up over everything that we do and just being better every single day. That’s our goal: striving to be better,” Neil says.
About the song selection process of their debut album, “we were really focused on making each track have its own identity and its own character. We didn’t want any two songs to say exactly the same thing, or feel the same way, or evoke the same emotion. This album really walks on the edge between reality and the surreal. Part of it is day-dreaming a little bit, and the other half is dealing with cold reality,” remarks Kimberly. “All three personalities in this band really show themselves in the different tracks of this album,” she adds.
“The song ‘Lasso’ winds the album down,” says Kimberly. “It’s a helpless romantic ballad about giving all of your effort and all of yourself to catch the object of your affection,” she adds.





About Markos Papadatos

Markos Papadatos is Broken Records Magazine's Deputy Editor and veteran staff writer. He has authored over 1,100 articles in his 7.5 year journalism career. Some of his big career interviews for Broken Records Magazine include Martina McBride, Rascal Flatts, George Jones, Alter Bridge, The Band Perry, Brantley Gilbert, Bill Anderson, Terry Clark, Janie Fricke, Matt Nathanson, Billy Currington, Justin Moore, James Otto, Joe Jonas of the Jonas Brothers, Tyler Hilton, Ryan Cabrera, Tristan Prettyman and American Idol winner Phillip Phillips.